The Spice Girls

May I just say that when I was growing up, I didn’t really know a lot about the Top 40s. I listened to Jimi Hendirx, Louie Armstrong, Harry Belafonte, and of course Motown hits. I grew up in a house where my parents listened to good old hits from their time that they knew was safe and fun for their only child. Music where I was able to dance with my father in the living room without curse words coming out. Music that touched the soul.

I learned a lot about the Top 40s from friends who would bring their CD players to school and let me listen in on the music. 3LW, TLC, N’SYNC, Aaron Carter, Lil’ Bow Wow, Monica, these were some of the artiest that I learned about at my school. But nothing grabbed my attention more than The Spice Girls.

Pose, Sporty, Ginger, Scary, and Baby Spice.
Spice up the World!

I loved the Spice Girls. Not only were they British, but they all had great vocals and style. During recess, my friends and I would always play Spice Girls by pretending to be one of the members. At my majority black catholic school, all of my friends insisted on being Scary Spice since she was the only Black member. Me? Well I always choose the wonderful Pose Spice now known as Victoria Beckham. I always had this sort of connect with her whenever I saw her in a music video. She had style and attitude which proved to me she was able to make her own decisions; That she was a strong creative person.

Listening to the Spice Girls’ songs, they always had meaning to them. Friendship, living life, and having fun. They were never negative and they were never about snapping your fingers in a Z formation because another girl took your man. No. Their hits were pure, fun, and great to dance to. they were about empowering women and having fun in life which every girl that was my age needed to know and listen to.

Leave a Reply

