Powerpuff Save the Day!

Everyone has his or her favorite super hero. Superman, Batman, Spiderman, Thor, Wolverine, The Flash, the list goes on and on. As a female watching TV and wishing for a hero that wasn’t a Disney Princess, I found that Cartoon Network’s The Powder Puff Girls took a good portion of my time and worshipping. They were originally called the Kick-Ass Girls but to be able to still be a children’s show, they changed the name to the Powder Puff Girls.

From Left to Right: Bubbles, Blossom, and Buttercup. My heroes when I was in the second grade.

This show was all female power. Three little girls made from Sugar, spice, everything nice with an extra accidental ingredient, Chemical X. Professor Utonium  just wanted daughter who were the perfect little girls but instead he created superheroes. The Powder Puff Girls were soon fighting crime in their city of Townsville. These 30 minute episodes with great storylines and a funny nostalgic feel to it, made the show a winner in my heart and in the hearts of many others.

The Powder Puff Girls had many villains such as Mojo Jojo (my aunt’s favorite), HIM, Princess Morbucks, The Gangrene Gang, and Fuzzy Lumpkins just to name a few. They were friends with the Mayor who kept a hotline phone in his office so that he could call the girls whenever the city was in trouble. But they had to do it before bedtime so that they could go to Kindergarten the next day. Even though they could fly and shoot lasers from their eyes, they still had spelling test to attend to.

I miss this show. I would often watch my favorite episode on Youtube which was the dedication to the Beatles where every line they said was a lyric from a Beatle’s song. But when I had Boomerang on my Cable TV, I would sit and watch that show like it was no tomorrow. And although my mom hated me watching that show growing up because of the violence they showed, I still watch it today. This show showed me that little girls could be superheroes too. That they could save the world and take a nap with no problem. You can still catch me at times singing the “Love” song from one of the episodes where a mime takes all the color away and Bubbles saves the day. That’s how much Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup impacted me. And that’s why I would will show my future children this show when I start a family. Powder Puff!

Leave a Reply

