My History in Video Games: A Memory and Thank You

Technology has changed rapidly over the years. As humans, we have created the wheel, computers, cars, and so many other great inventions. But the one best invention out there has to be video games. In 1958, Tennis for two came out from a team from the Brookhaven National Laboratory. It was a simple two-dimensional game that soon paved the road for the famous electronic Ping-Pong game that came out in the 70s.

However, I’m not going to sit here and give you a history lesson on video games though. I wanted to remember the ones I played. And yeah I still kind of go back to my GameCube or my DSI and play Sims 3 on my computer, but I’m not a gamer. I’m more of a person who loved video games for the relaxation of it.

I got my first Gameboy color when I was about 6 or 7 yeas old. It was pink since I was a girl and I got all the little accessories such as a car charger (even though it ran on batteries), a light to play when it got dark, and even a little case to carry my Gameboy in.

Pinky my Gameboy Color with the pink light for when it got dark. Thank God they put lighting in the actual systems when they upgraded to the DS

I would play in the car all them time when my parents would go shopping. I hated shopping as a little girl so playing Barbie Ocean Adventure on my Gameboy color was a fun treat. Soon the Gameboy color Advance came out years later and I asked for one for Christmas. It was new, funky, and fun. It was also my chance to play Super Mario Brothers, which I use to play on the SNES that my dad got for me when I was younger.

From top left corner to the bottom right corner: Gameboy Advance Micro, Gameboy Advance, Gameboy Advance SP, and the Nintendo DSi. I had the honor of having all of these. I can't wait to show my children!

Soon I upgraded to the Gameboy advance micro, which played Gameboy advance games except it was smaller, and I also upgraded my NSES to a GameCube. My first game on my Gamecube was the all time famous Super Monkey Ball. That was the game where your character, one of the two girl monkeys or one of the two boy monkeys, went through different obstacles to reach the highest level. It was 3D imagery which was 100% different than most of the other games. The control was bigger than others and it would vibrate as well whenever you got hurt. I was one of the most popular girls in my class for having this gaming system. The boys wanted to talk to me about games and the girls wanted to come over and game with me since the boys never let them do it.

From left to right: SNES and Gameboy Advance

I never really upgraded from my Gameboy Advance and my GameCube. Not until my 17th birthday. I didn’t ask for much on that birthday and my dad, knowing that I loved to play games when I was stressed, bought me a Gameboy DSi. It was a great surprise and I love my blue game. Though I don’t play it very often, it still takes me back to when I was a carefree kid just wanting to have fun. Video games have progressed since they were first created. There are games where you don’t need to use a remote but stand in front of a motion sensor waving your hands and puts the moves in the game. And whenever I clean my room at home and I see my old gameboy things, I chock up a little. The time of relaxation and fun; the time of when I wasn’t overwhelmed. It was a great memory and friend.

Leave a Reply

