Journal Entry: Osmosis Jones

Do you remember Osmosis Jones? It was a weird little cartoon/live action movie that came out in 2001 staring Chris Rock, Bill Murray, Lawrence Fishburne, David Hyde Pierce, and Molly Shannon. I was lying in bed the other night, flipping through the channels on my TV, when I came across this movie. I remember my friends saying how if you watched this movie, you were ready for any human body test because it showed lot of facts about the human body.

Osmosis Jones is about a white blood cell that teams up with Drix, a cold pill, to fight a deadly virus that is living in Bill Murray’s character’s body. Watching it as a kid, I didn’t catch a lot of the jokes or references that the movie had or why it was important to stay healthy. I knew that picking up food from the ground could cause you to be sick by unknown germs and I also understood the important of washing your hands. But as a 20 year old, I sat back and enjoyed the funny adult parts I didn’t get when I was little. I know a lot more about the human body now.

Osmosis Jones wasn’t the most popular children’s film, but it does have a nice small cult following. It even had a TV series for two years after the movie premiered. It’s a fun movie when you want to learn about being healthy and learning about the body. It’s one of those movies you have to sit down and just enjoy. So if you have time watch this movie (Secret: It’s on Youtube…). You will sit there thinking like I did, “Hmm, I wonder if that really goes on in my body?”

Leave a Reply

