Britney or Christina

One simple question: Britney or Christiana? I have to say that in the second grade I was more of a Spice Girls type of person than I was fighting over which pop diva was better. I could never say I liked both. That was asking for a death wish. Girls would always say, “You can dance to Britney!” or “Christina has more soul.” These two blonds came out at the same time as the two biggest female stars in the 90s. They were young, white, and hip. Yet it was always hard to say who was better. Britney had that southern charm to her that made her “the girl next door”. Christiana had that rebellious sweet girl look that made her look like she was ready to go clubbing. But if you were to ask me who I like more, I would say asdjakafhafha. Did that make sense? Well it shouldn’t have. Trying to make sense on who you like more made you loss friends in the process. That how I learned how to compromise.

The Ultimate Argument

During recess, my friends would play Britney Spears and Christiana Aguilera. They would fight over me to join a side in which I propose to play “Spice Girls vs Spice Girls Zombies”. Of course there was then a fight over who would be “Scary Spice” since she was the only black one in the group and I went to an all black catholic school. But at least they were fighting over something better in my mind than fighting over two perfectly good singers. In a few years time, they would all move on to arguing more over which singer was better or join the debate now on Lil’ Kim vs. Nicki Minaj.

Not as good as Britney vs Christina, but similar...I guess...

Sometimes when I was younger, I wished girls didn’t argue over such things. The boys usually argued about which Pokemon was stronger in a fight. And although I didn’t watch much Pokemon, I know that I much rather be in that discussion than the one over who wore that dress better: Britney or Christiana. Now I am 20 years old and I have to say that I still can’t make up my mind. Britney has a lot of iconic songs that I always dance to where ever I am, while Christiana is on my inspiration playlist on my iPod because her music touches my soul. I guess it depends on the person. But I have to say that when I have children, I’m putting them up to the test just like my mom did with Michael Jackson and James Brown.

 

Leave a Reply

